How to Control Privacy in the App
NearJoy gives you control over your privacy — every feature is designed to protect your personal data and give you choices that fit your comfort.
🔒 Your Privacy. Your Controls.
We take privacy seriously:
- No user-to-user location sharing.
- You’ll know someone is nearby — not their exact location.
- Minimal data collected: only location, nickname and chats are stored on our servers.
- Your location is anonymized before it's stored on our servers.
- Location data is regularly deleted after processing.
- Group chats are deleted once nearby members are no longer in proximity.
- User-to-user communication is ephemeral and is not retained on our servers.
Your controls in the App:
- Tracking can be disabled anytime, instantly removing your location data.
- You decide whether to allow fine or coarse location with NearJoy.
- Incognito mode lets you hide your nickname.
- Private groups are fully managed by a single owner for complete control.
- Group owner decide on proximity detection range.
- You can leave a group anytime.
- Deletion of your account removes all your data from our servers.
Can't find what you're looking for? Check out our Help section for guidance and tips.